Sweet Shrimp

I wasn’t sure how this meal was going to turn out, so I didn’t take any pictures during the cooking process. Bummer. It actually turned out to be really good, even though my husband said the sauce was a little too sweet for his tastebuds. Below is the recipe I will use next time to make it less sweet. Enjoy.

What I used:

  • 1 pound of Raw Shelled Wild Shrimp (but I am sure any shrimp will do)
  • 2 Sweet Potatoes
  • 1 large Ruby Red Grapefruit
  • 2 teaspoons Honey (optional)
  • Parsley, chopped
  • Pepper
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 clove of Garlic, minced
  • Olive Oil

First, devein and clean the shrimp. In a sauce pan, heat up about 1 teaspoon of olive oil on medium low heat and add the minced garlic. After about a minute, add the grapefruit juice (I just cut it in half and then squeezed each half over the sauce pan), honey, cayenne pepper, and a few sprinkles of parsley. Add as much cayenne pepper as you like, I started off with a small amount and as the sauce cooked I added more for taste. Turn the heat on your sauce down to low.

While my sauce was cooking (with small bubbles forming), I added some olive oil to a pan and cooked my shrimp. Once the shrimp was fully cooked, I plated my mashed sweet potatoes with the shrimp on top and poured the sauce over it. I think I will try this sauce again but with salmon or chicken, I thought it was good.

 

Sweet Shrimp

Leave a Reply

